YesWeDid….

Not Just Another Blog

COMPARING MY LOOKS

Posted by yeswedid on September 9, 2009

COMPARING MY LOOKS

Many times I have been told that “you look like Beyonce Knowles’ cousin, you have a body like Jennifer Lopez’, you have a smile like Halle Berry’s……” {the list is quite long}! I’m sure you all know the above women. And yes, they are beautiful but why are you making the comparison? I guess this can work for some girls but not me! I like to be complimented on my looks and all but there’s no need to compare me with someone else.

Being compared with Beyonce or anyone else for that matter makes me think that I’m being seen as their shadow. You know what I’m saying? Like the person who is complimenting me secretly wishes I were Lopez or Halley. I’m a very confident person and as a result, I sort of feel insulted when this happens to me. Luckily, none of the boyfriends I have dated has ever made such comparisons or else! And I thank God because He made me very beautiful {I imagine you are saying that I’m vein, right? that’s okay}so if anyone is to compliment me, great! I appreciate but please do not compare me, thank you very much.

This is not to say that every girl is like me. In fact some girls would give anything to hear people {especially men} compare their looks or style with popular celebrities, actresses….but I think many of this kind have deep rooted self esteem issues {if you know what i mean}. Anyways, all you out there; my smile is like whose? Like MY smile! My lips are like whose? Like MY lips {not Angelina Joli’s}! And so is everything else on my body! Clear?

Leave a comment